Award for Community Practice

Award for Distinguished Contributions to Practice in Community Psychology

2010 Recipient: William Neigher

Part 1:

Part 2:

The Award for Distinguished Contributions to Practice in Community Psychology is presented annually to an individual whose career of high quality and innovative applications of psychological principles has significantly benefited the practice of community psychology. The person receiving this award will have demonstrated innovation and leadership in one or more of the following roles:

  • community service provider or manager/administrator of service programs;
  • trainer or manager of training programs for service providers;
  • developer and/or implementer of public policy; 
  • developer and/or implementer of interventions in the media (including cyberspace) to promote community psychology goals and priorities;
  • other innovative roles.

The awardee may currently work in any setting (e.g., education, government, business or industry, community or human service programs). The criteria for the award include:

  • Engaged at least 75% time, for a minimum of 10 years, in a non-academic setting in the practice of high quality and innovative applications of psychological principles that have significantly benefited the practice of community psychology;
  • Demonstrated positive impact on the natural ecology of community life resulting from the ap¬plication of psychological principles;
  • Challenge to the status quo or prevailing conceptual models and applied methods; or
  • Demonstrated personal success in exercising leadership based on applied practice.

Nomination Process and Deadline for Submission: Please forward by e-mail, by September 15, 2011 a letter of nomination detailing the basis for the nomination, and a 3-5 page biographical sketch of the nominee (which may be prepared by the nominee) to Patricia O'Connor, chair of the selection committee.

Past Recipients:

  • 2009 Andrea Solarz
  • 2008 Rich Jenkins
  • 2007 Jerry Shultz
  • 2006 Adrienne Paine-Andrews
  • 2005 Peter Dowrick, University of Hawaii
  • 2004 David Julian, Ohio State University
  • 2003 Jose Toro-Alfonsois
  • 2002 Debbi Starnes, Emstar, Atlanta, GA
  • 2001 Ed Madera, Denville, NJ
  • 2000 Will Edgerton, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • 1999 Tom Gullotta, New London, CT
  • 1998 Vivian Brown, Manhattan, CA
  • 1997 Steve Fawcett, University of Kansas
  • 1996 Joe Galano, College of William and Mary, VA
  • 1995 Bill Berkowitz, AHEC/Community Partners, Amherst, Massachusetts
  • 1994 Gloria Levin, National Institute of Mental Health
  • 1993 Maurice Elias, Rutgers University
  • 1992 David Chavis, Rutgers University
  • 1991 Beverly Long, World Federation of Mental Health
  • 1990 John Morgan, Chesterfield MH-MR Department, Chesterfield, VA
  • 1989 Frank Reissman, City University of New York
  • 1988 Betty Tableman, Department of Mental Health, Lansing, MI
  • 1987 Donald C. Klein, Union Graduate School
  • 1986 Anthony Broskowski, Northside Community Mental Health Center, Tampa, FL
  • 1985 Thomas Wolff, C, Amherst, Massachusetts
  • 1984 Carolyn F. Swift, Interactive Development and Training, Columbus, OH
  • 1983 Saul Cooper, Washtenaw County Community Mental Health Center, Michigan


You will need to download the latest Adobe Flash Player to use all features of this page.
Details View
Item Listing: Award for Community Practice
Title ascendingSizeModified byRating
  2010 - W. Neigher 1 itemSCRA Web Admin 
  Practice - past recipients.docx 11 KBSCRA Web Admin 

Are you sure you want to steal this reservation?

Viewed 2,274 times